North Cyprus Tourist Board - Teaching/Lecturing TRNC
North Cyprus
North Cyprus > North Cyprus Forum > Teaching/Lecturing TRNC

Teaching/Lecturing TRNC

North Cyprus Forums Homepage

Join Cyprus44 Board | Already a member? Login

Popular Posts - List of popular topics discussed on our board.

You must be a member and logged in, to post replies and new topics.

» See All North Cyprus Schools Posts

PoliticoRon

Message Posted:
09/11/2009 23:03

Join or Login to Reply
Message 1 of 17 in Discussion

Is anyone out there able to help? I'm wondering how to get into teaching or lecturing in TRNC. I am currently a University Lecturer in UK, teaching Politics/Philosophy/History in a FE/HE hybrid institution so I teach Scottish Higher, A-Level, Degree and Masters level. As the nature of the industry allows in UK I did not do "Teacher Training" I am educated to MPhil level and reading for a PhD; I also have extensive "in-house" teacher training certificates.

I have sent my CV to GAU and other American Unis in Lefkosa and Famagusta; and visited with printed letters and CVs when I am in TRNC and have never had confirmation of receipt! I would normally put this down to no positions, but whenever I do other business in TRNC with a property agent or lawyer they say the country is "gagging" for English speaking social science lecturers?

Grateful for advice

Ron

charb

Message Posted:
10/11/2009 04:48

Join or Login to Reply
Message 2 of 17 in Discussion

It may be the worst time ever to look for a teaching job in NC. The universities were not able to get enough registrations this year; GAU got about 600 new registrations for example. The quota to be filled is about 12 000 in total. So the universities are suffering the global economic crisis + low level of quality + NC being an expensive place to live compared to Turkey. Jobwise, I'd recommend Turkish private universities, but most of them are in Istanbul. Have you considered the university in the south?

Pixie

Message Posted: