North Cyprus Tourist Board - Post for Moover about property possession
North Cyprus
North Cyprus > North Cyprus Forum > Post for Moover about property possession

Post for Moover about property possession

North Cyprus Forums Homepage

Join Cyprus44 Board | Already a member? Login

Popular Posts - List of popular topics discussed on our board.

You must be a member and logged in, to post replies and new topics.

» North Cyprus Property Development Reviews

» Property Buying Guide to North Cyprus

Rottolover

Message Posted:
30/01/2010 16:17

Join or Login to Reply
Message 1 of 10 in Discussion

Hey Moover,

Been enjoying all the fun on NCFP for the past couple of weeks, including your relentless and fascinating pursuit of those beleagured GCs. Your continued taunt of possession is 9/10ths of the law has got me thinking.

In another life I was a Commonwealth-registered land surveyor in Australia, and actually conducted two or three (they aren't all that common) adverse possession surveys. Now all I can speak on with any authority is the property laws in Australia, and that only when I was still practising. Things may well be different now, and of course different in the UK and Cyprus.

My cases utilised the adverse possession law that stated any property you could prove you had been occupying for at least a period of I think 12 years, as proved by registered survey, was yours. The proof usually was in the from of photos of the property and receipts of all local government fees such as land tax and water rates, plus the diagram of survey showing the dimensions of the...

Rottolover

Message Posted:
30/01/2010 16:18

Join or Login to Reply
Message 2 of 10 in Discussion

claimed piece of land.

Can you advise if this is also the case in TRNC? If so, it might be something that some people could benefit by.

Maz

Message Posted:
30/01/2010 16:19

Join or Login to Reply
Message 3 of 10 in Discussion

Oops, where is part 2 Rottoilover.