North Cyprus Tourist Board - buying a car from greek side
North Cyprus
North Cyprus > North Cyprus Forum > buying a car from greek side

buying a car from greek side

North Cyprus Forums Homepage

Join Cyprus44 Board | Already a member? Login

Popular Posts - List of popular topics discussed on our board.

You must be a member and logged in, to post replies and new topics.

AmmarHuneidi

Message Posted:
25/11/2011 00:09

Join or Login to Reply
Message 1 of 6 in Discussion

may i ask a question , im student in northern cyprus , if i want to buy a car from the other side , is it possible or not ? i can go to other side as my american passport , but will i be allowed to own a car from there ? please answer me i need an answer

colly

Message Posted:
25/11/2011 00:14

Join or Login to Reply
Message 2 of 6 in Discussion

I am no expert but I do believe that you would need an address in the south for all the legals, also believe that you would need to keep going back to the south as well!

Agobard

Message Posted:
25/11/2011 07:29

Join or Login to Reply
Message 3 of 6 in Discussion

I don't think it would be worth the trouble. You don't appear to fulfill any of the criteria required to get permission to use a GC registered car in the TRNC - you're not a Turkish Cypriot working in the south etc etc. It is tempting to consider buying cars in the south as they are a lot cheaper than here but, if the vehicle ends up being confiscated, it could be an expensive purchase.

Groucho

Message Posted:
25/11/2011 07:33

Join or Login to Reply
Message 4 of 6 in Discussion

You have to pay the import duties and register it here :(

Erkin

Message Posted:
25/11/2011 08:04

Join or Login to Reply
Message 5 of 6 in Discussion

Msg 1:

The simple answer is no, you are not permited to use a Greek Registered car in the north, We did a thread about this about a month back about Greek cars being impounded in the north.

The there are only 2 ways a Greek Car can be used in the north,